Random Acts of craftiness – multi-strand bracelet

Standard
Completed multi-strand bracelet

Bracelet redux

I made this bracelet as a Christmas gift for a friend but it was a bit too big, so she asked me to make it a bit smaller.  It took me a few weeks to get it back from her and then a few more weeks to fix it.  It wasn’t a terribly difficult task – I had to shorten the 2 pieces of chain and re-string the strand of seed beads.  But I am the Queen of Procrastination (just ask my husband about the bracelet I promised to make him 3 years ago or the wool for his sweater that is still in the box).  

Once I actually sat down and started to work on it, it didn’t take me long to take it apart and put it back together.  First I had to I locate my tools – it took me about 15 minutes, but I finally found them buried at the bottom of a box of fabric scraps (no idea how they ended up there). 

So here’s what the original bracelet looked like.  Yes, the seed bead strand had separated from the clasp – shoddy workmanship (lol).

Multi-strand bracelet - original design 

Here’s what I used to make the bracelet:

 2 pieces of copper chain (about 6 1/2 to 7 inches each, depending on the size of your wrist)

1 copper clasp

small Jade Scott resin and copper charm

glass bead by Kelley Wenzel

drilled stone from Stone Studios Too

small seed beads, beading wire, crimp beads, jump rings, copper head pins and 1 small copper spacer

The construction is pretty simple – I cut both pieces of chain to the length I wanted and attached them to each end of the clasp. To shorten the bracelet, I simply took out a few links.

I strung the glass bead on a head pin and then made a loop and wrapped it around to the top of the bead. I put the copper spacer on a jump ring and added the drilled stone.  Then I attached the charm, the stone and glass bead to clasp. Originally, I attached the dangles to the toggle side of the clasp, but it made it awkward to take on and off.  So when I re-sized it, I took the opportunity to switch it to the other side.  Designer’s discretion.

For the seed bead strand, I attached a crimp bead to beading wire and strung small multi-coloured seed beads to the same length as the chain.  To shorten the bracelet, I had to re-string the beads on a new strand of beading wire – a little finicky but relatively easy to do.  I finished off with a crimp bead and attached both ends of the strand to each half of the clasp with a jump ring. This time, I made sure the jump rings were closed tightly on both sides, so the strand won’t come loose.

I am really happy with how it turned out – both times.  Now I just have to make sure I get it back to my friend. 

I have linked up to the following:  Think Pink Sundays at Flamingo Toes ; Making Monday Marvelous at C.R.A.F.T. ; Made by You Mondays at Skip to My Lou ; Get Your Craft on Tuesday at Today”s Creative Blog; Take-a-Look Tuesdays at Sugar Bee Crafts; Wednesday Wowzers at oopsy daisy

One response »

Leave a Reply

