Beaded ribbon bracelet

Standard

Beaded ribbon bracelet

Art Bead Scene, one of my favourite blogs, runs a monthly beading challenge.  The inspiration for the challenge is usually a painting but occasionally they select a sculpture or photograph.  The idea is to create a piece of jewelry that is evocative of the painting, using art beads (hand-made artisan beads).  I have never participated – even if I like the painting, I am rarely organized enough to make something within the allotted timeframe.

I was particularly drawn to this month’s selected work, Boreas, by John William Waterhouse (painted in 1903).   Even better, I had the necessary materials on hand.  The predominant colour is my favourite – purple – with different tones of gray.  The painting has lots of depth and movement, which also spoke to me. 

While I give most of my jewelry away as gifts, I decided to make a bracelet for myself.   Instead of starting from scratch, I re-worked a bracelet I made a couple of years ago.  It featured a stunning polymer clay focal from HumbleBeads and purple patined chain from MissFickleMedia.  I wore it from time to time, but more because of the colour than the design.  It was a bit meh; ok, but nothing special.

Close-up of focal by HumbleBead

In re-working the bracelet, I kept the focal, the toggle clasp and the gun-metal chain.  I replaced the purple chain with hand-dyed ribbon from JodyPosey, wrapped in 28 gauge purple wire and amethyst seed beads (size 10/0) . 

Hand-dyed ribbon

To reflect the painting’s colours and add some additional texture, I made a beaded link chain with some dark gray rounds I found in my bead box. 

Gray bead links

I dressed up the focal by wrapping it with purple wire.  It was a bit of an experiment, but I was pleased with the result.  The wire wrapping made the focal pop.   As a final touch, I made a small dangle with a stone from StoneStudiosToo and fire polish beads for a hint of sparkle.

Wire-wrapped focal - underside

I am really happy with the new bracelet.  It has a lot going on, but the elements balance each other out.  It`s fun enough to wear with jeans, but could easily be worn with a jacket or a dressy sweater for work.  I think it is highly reminiscent of the painting.   Best of all, it’s purple, my favourite colour.

Funky new bracelet!

I have linked up to the following: Think Pink Sundays at Flamingo Toes ; Making Monday Marvelous at C.R.A.F.T. ; Made by You Mondays at Skip to My Lou ; Get Your Craft on Tuesday at Today’s Creative Blog; Take-a-Look Tuesdays at Sugar Bee Crafts; Wednesday Wowzers at oopsy daisy; Flaunt It Fridays at Dotted Line Crafts; The Cure for the Common Monday at Lines Across My Face

4 responses »

  1. I found you on “Think Pink Sundays” and I think your bracelet is gorgeous. I think adding the purple wire to the focal was a great touch. Purple is my favorite color, too ! 🙂 Beautiful job.

  2. Pingback: Jewelry for a good cause – 7000 Bracelets for Hope « Mistheword

Leave a Reply

