Lemony chickpea salad

Standard
The Art of Salad

The Art of Salad (Photo credit: Chiot’s Run)

Since I take my lunch to work almost every day, I am always looking for dishes that are portable and easy-to-make.  This time of year, I particularly like salads, but lettuce gets boring pretty quickly.   Plain salad doesn’t have much protein, unless I add a hard-boiled egg, tuna or left-over chicken.  While I’m not currently a vegetarian, I do try and eat more vegetarian than meat-based meals.  So chickpea salad is a good option

I have been making a variation of the recipe for years – once I find something I like, I tend to stick with it.  The recipe makes enough to last about week (3-4 days if my husband asks me nicely if he can have some too).  It’s easy – just rinse a can of chickpeas, and chopped vegetables and toss with the dressing.  The recipe is also flexible – the ingredients and amounts can be varied according to personal taste..  It’s versatile – I can toss it with some greens or wrap it in a tortilla with sprouts for a quick sandwich.   Not to mention, cheap (about a dollar per can) and good for you.

Lemony Chickpea Salad

1-19 ounce can of chickpeas, drained and rinsed (I use whatever is on sale and has the least amount of sodium)

1/3 cup each celery, red pepper and red onion, chopped fine

1/3 cup grated carrot (I don’t bother peeling mine – takes too much time)

1/4 cup marinated artichoke hearts

Mix ingredients together in bowl (I make the salad directly in a plastic container to minimize cleanup – when the salad is finished, I pop on the lid and throw it in the fridge)

For the dressing, whisk together the following in a small bowl:

1 tbsp fresh lemon juice

1 tbsp rice vinegar

2 tbsp olive oil

1 tsp grainy Dijon mustard

2 tbsp finely chopped fresh herbs (e.g., oregano, basil, parsley, chives)

1/4 tsp ground coriander

1-2 pinches ground cumin

salt/pepper to taste

Pour on top of the chickpea/vegetable mixture and combine well (I usually put the lid on and give the container a couple of good shakes) and refrigerate.

I ride my bike to work and I never have to worry about this salad getting mushy.  It tastes better after a couple of days and you can eat it chilled or at room temperature.  A winner in my books.

Leave a Reply

