Jewelry for a good cause – 7000 Bracelets for Hope

Standard
Every month, Art Beads Scene has a monthly jewelry-making challenge. Beaders take their inspiration from the selected painting or photo and use art beads (hand-made beads or components) to make a piece of jewelry.  Most of the pieces chosen for the challenge do strike a creative spark with me, but usually not enough to actually make anything.  Unless I already have beads in the required colour palette, I have to order them.  This isn’t a big deal, but it requires being sufficiently inspired and organized to find and order them early in the month, so I get them before the challenge ends.  The planets don’t align enough for this to happen very often.  The one or two times I have gotten to the point of starting a project (with the necessary beads and findings in my stash), I didn’t get it finished before the deadline – my purple beaded bracelet started off as a project for the Art Beads Scene challenge in April.

But this month, there is an added incentive to finally finish a project.  This month, Art Beads Scene is encouraging readers to make a blue-themed bracelet and contribute it to 7000 Bracelets for Hope, an initiative that raises awareness and support for caregivers of children with rare genetic diseases. Given my current fondness for making bracelets, this seemed like a good project for me.

After studying this month’s painting, Picasso’s Two Acrobats with a Dog I let my fingers do some walking on Etsy and ordered a number of beads.  Plus a couple of pewter charms.  While I have a design in mind, none of the beads have arrived yet.  I am pretty tactile when it comes to making jewelry – I can have an idea in my head, but I need to have the materials in front of me in order to really see how the piece will come together.

Here’s a couple of the beads I ordered…

Vintage blue and orange vintage enameled rounds (Gardanne Beads)

Vintage enameled rounds / Blue and orange enamel 7

Blue Matte Ceramic Beads by NKPbeads on Etsy, $2.30

Blue Matte Ceramic Beads by NKPbeads on Etsy, $2.30

Green Girl Studios Tiny Head Charm
zoom
“Tiny Head” charm was created by Green Girl Studios in lead free pewter from Bead Lady

Stay tuned to see the final project later this month. And if the muse strikes you, hop over to Art Beads Scene and see how you can contribute to 7000 Bracelets for Hope.

Leave a Reply

