Random acts of craftiness – super easy summer necklace

Standard

My favourite kind of jewelry project is quick and simple. At the same time, I want it to look as good, if not better than something I could buy at a store. This necklace, which features a fabulous resin pendant from Jade Scott, fits both criteria.

All you need for this necklace is a long length of copper chain; a few shorter pieces of chain (preferably not the same, but your choice); 4 copper jump rings; 3 small copper  filigree circles (I got mine at FabBeads on Etsy) and a pendant of your choice (next Jade Scott update is on July 26).

I started off by using 3 jump rings to attach the copper filigree circles  to each other to each other and one end of  at the longest piece of chain. I didn’t want to bother with a clasp, so I used a piece of chain that 26 inches long (big enough to go over my head, with some left over). Add a 4th jump rung to the filigree at the bottom . Attach the chain at the desired – I had a “tail” about 4 inched long.  I cut 3 short lengths of different copper chain and attached them to the jump ring.  Once I was happy with the arrangement of the chain “tassel,” I closed up the jump ring. I tried it on and figured out where I wanted the pendant to hang (admittedly a bit tricky in the car) and attached it with a jump ring. A brand-new necklace.

Filigree circles attached with jump rings to chain

“Tassel” close-up

New necklace (holding camera in one hand)

I estimate it would take 15 minutes (at most) to put the necklace together.  Mine took a little longer as I made it in the car on the way back from the cottage (yes, I was a passenger), While making jewelry in the car helps pass the time, so the trip seem much shorter, it can present some challenges. Inevitably, i end up juggling my tools and supplies in my lap and a critical component or tool disappears, either onto the floor or beside my seat. So count on 30 minutes, if you are making this while on a road trip. If it’s a long trip, bring along some extra supplies and make a couple of extra necklaces. You won’t be bored, and by the end of the trip, you’ll have a whole new wardrobe of necklaces to wear with your favourite summer outfits.

Finished product – close-up

I have linked up to the following: Craft Envy – Saturday Spotlight; Think Pink Sundays at Flamingo Toes ; Monday Link Party at Craft-O-Maniac; Motivate Me Monday at Keeping It Simple; Making Monday Marvelous at C.R.A.F.T. ; Made by You Mondays at Skip to My Lou ; Get Your Craft on Tuesday at Today’s Creative Blog; Take-a-Look Tuesdays at Sugar Bee Crafts; Wednesday Wowzers at oopsy daisy; Flaunt It Fridays at Dotted Line Crafts; The Cure for the Common Monday at Lines Across My FaceSix Sisters Stuff – Strut Your Stuff Saturday

Leave a Reply

