Clover all over

Standard

I have a red clover plant that was given to me years ago by a very dear friend. Clovers, as I have learned over the years, are pretty hardy plants, as long as they are happy. With the right light and comfortable pot, a clover will do fine and won’t need much attention, beyond regular watering. An unhappy clover won’t do much.

Fortunately for me, my red clover likes living on a plant stand that looks out a west-facing window (I have two that face south, so I’m not sure direction of the light source is critical for clovers – the plant just needs to like where it is). Recently, I noticed that it was looking a bit droopy and the stems were getting soft. Upon closer inspection, I noticed that the soil looked mouldy – it had nasty white fuzz on most of the surface.

Rather than treating the soil, I decided to dump it out and start over with fresh dirt. I also cleaned out the plant pot, in order to avoid re-infecting the new soil with whatever organism had taken up residence with my clover.

Clovers plants send leaves and flowers up from little tubers. A lot of the tubers on my clover were soft and squishy. I only replanted the healthiest ones. I made sure not to bury the top of the tuber in the soil, much like you would plant an iris.

Once I replanted the best-looking pieces, I watered the plant and left it alone. I have learned from experience that clovers don’t much like being transplanted and tend to look miserable for the first few days. After about a week, the plant was bouncing back and by the time we got back from our holidays, it has over a dozen big red triangular leaves, waving on the end of strong stems, about 4-6 inches long. This may not seem impressive, but considering I didn’t have any healthy leaves after transplanting, I’m pleased about how well it is coming along. A month ago, it was just about dead.

Transplanted clover

Healthy and happy

But the real surprise was finding red clover growing at the end of my driveway. I had transplanted the clover outside and had thrown the bits of clover tuber I didn’t transplant into a patch of dirt beside the hedge that lines our driveway. I figured they would just decompose.

Surprise! New red clover plants

New growth – more red clover on the way

Our driveway slants towards the back, so rain tends to push loose silt into this spot. Apparently, the clover bits weren’t as dead I though they were and they re-rooted on their own. My husband noticed then and asked me if I knew why red clover was growing in our driveway. I don’t really know why, except the clover thinks that this is a happy spot and decided to grow. Far be it from me to disturb a happy plant.

I will probably dig up the clover when the weather gets cooler, as I am not sure it would survive the winter. I know it won’t like being disturbed, but I’ll put it is a pot with fresh soil and find a nice window for it to hang out in over the winter. Winter is long where I live and it will make me happy to look at my clover plants when it is cold and dark outside. For the moment, I will enjoy my new plants, inside and outside.

Leave a Reply

