Random acts of craftiness – teen boy birthday card

Standard

One of the biggest challenges for me is making a birthday card for a boy, especially a teenager. When you’re dealing with the 13 to 20 age bracket, there is a very fine line between fun and catchy and embarrassing and goofy. Especially if you don’t want to be referred to as the weirdo aunt who gives hand-made stuff. That’s almost as bad as giving clothes or educational toys.

When my nephew recently turned 16,  I wanted to mark the occasion with a personalized card. I had already checked out what was on offer in my local card stores and the pickings were slim indeed. I would be embarrassed sending a card that says, “nephew, you rock,” with a stylized picture of a skateboard or a guitar on it.

As it happens, my nephew is heavily into music and plays several instruments, including the banjo. With M’s help, I downloaded a couple of images of banjos from a clipart site. I decided to go with a black and while image and print it onto a piece of cardstock that had the texture of Kraft paper. I’ve used this cardstock to good effect before; it contrasts nicely with black and white images and gives the card a rustic, masculine feel. Kraft paper cardstock is readily available at my local Micheals’.

I decided to make the banjo the centr piece of the card. I added a little bit of texture by mounting the image on a background of colour blocks. As a final touch, I stamped birthday greetings on the front and used stickers to spell out “play on.”

Teen’s birthday card – easy to personalize

Although I used my scoring board to make the fold in the card,because of the the finish on the cardstock, it didn’t fold cleanly. I turned the card over, so the messy edge was inside and glued a coordinating strip of paper on either side of the fold. It still looked messy so I ran a strip of wasbi tape in a neutral colour across the fold and re-glued the paper strips back into place. As is my habit, I embellished the inside of the card.

Inside of the card, including the top edge

Inside of the card – upside down

It took me a little longer than usual to put the card together – I wanted it to be  funky, rather than freaky. The design can be easily replicated, for a boy or a girl, with different image and colours.  Clipart makes it a snap to tailor the card to the specific interests of the recipient.

I was really pleased with the results. Even better, my nephew really liked his card.

And just for the record, he got a really cool gift.

I have linked up to the following: Craft Envy – Saturday Spotlight; Think Pink Sundays at Flamingo Toes ; Monday Link Party at Craft-O-Maniac; Motivate Me Monday at Keeping It Simple; Making Monday Marvelous at C.R.A.F.T. ; Made by You Mondays at Skip to My Lou ; Get Your Craft on Tuesday at Today’s Creative Blog; Take-a-Look Tuesdays at Sugar Bee Crafts; Wednesday Wowzers at oopsy daisy; Flaunt It Fridays at Dotted Line Crafts; The Cure for the Common Monday at Lines Across My FaceSix Sisters Stuff – Strut Your Stuff Saturday

Leave a Reply

