Busy…not blogging

Standard

The last few weeks have been busy – work assignments, organizing the Bake Table at the school holiday event, as well as several evenings at the theatre (seasons tickets). As Christmas approaches, things will only get busier around our house. Not a lot of time left over for blogging.Part of the issue is that I love Christmas. I want to make cute little decorations and hang them all over my house. I want to give hand-made, adorably wrapped gifts to most of the people on my list.If I have to buy a gift, I prefer it be crafted by a local artisan. I  to ply friends and family with yummy handmade goodies. Forget UNICEF, I want to create a unique card for everyone on my Christmas card list.

Clearly, my expectations are completely out of line with reality. There aren’t enough hours in the day between mid-November and December 24th to get through everything on my “To Do” list. At least not if I want to work (an economic necessity) and still eat, sleep and make sure my kid gets out the door to school every morning. Add in the fact that I am not highly organized nor particularly disciplined. So it’s not a big surprise that blogging has come almost to a stand still. I have lots of ideas for posts, but I also have lots of competition for my time. Those cookies aren’t going to bake themselves!

It’s not like I haven’t been getting things done. M and I have made several batches of cookies – several dozen went to the school bake sale a couple of weeks ago and the rest are in the freezer, to be boxed up as teachers gifts and hostess gifts. We’ve dialed back from our usual 75-100 dozen; we’re up to about 50 dozen so far and we have more shortbread dough frozen in the freezer. Even though we’ve cut back on our baking, we should still have enough cookies to fill a shoebox for our annual donation to a local restaurant’s holiday charity dinner.

Thanks to a network of great craft shows in my area, I’ve made a serious dent in my Christmas shopping. However, the home-made Christmas cards are coming along slowly and I’ve only completed one craft project (and that was a couple of weeks ago). Our annual Holiday Open House is coming up soon and the tree is only half-decorated, the house is messy and most of the appetizers are still to be made. Plus, I think I’m coming down with the office cold.

Rather than run myself down for what I haven’t done or what I still need to do, I’m going to give myself the gift of kindness. I’m going to do as much as I can and not beat myself up if I don’t get everything done. Hopefully, I can avoid visiting the mall on the last pre-Christmas weekend, but if I’m short a gift or two, I’ll cope. Fortunately, the issue with my credit card has been cleared up, so I can do some on-line shopping and avoid the crowds.

I’m hoping to be back on a regular blogging schedule soon – no later than the new year, but I’m hoping it will be sooner. In the interim, I’ll be making lists and checking them twice.

 

Leave a Reply

