Wire and ribbon bangle bracelet

Standard

Jan 2013 461

Several months ago, I bought a set of bangle bracelets on sale at my local department store. The cost was $10 for 7 bracelets and I was particularly keen on several embossed antique gold metallic bracelets in varying width. The set also included an unfinished wooden bangle, about 1/2 wide. It was not particularly attractive, so I set it aside and proceeded to wear the metallic bangles.

However, I recently came across the bangle and decided to see how I could transform it into a fun bracelet.I wanted to cover it, but decided against painting it – instead, I wrapped the bracelet in some purple silk sari ribbon from my stash (I bought mine from Mudhound Studio on Etsy).

Jan 2013 257

Jan 2013 258

Since the ribbon was fairly sheer, I overlapped it so the unfinished  wood wasn’t visible underneath. I made sure I left a piece about  3-4 inches long, so I could make a knot at the end (you could easily hot glue the ends of the ribbon to the bracelet, but I opted for wrapping and knotting). 

Jan 2013 409

Once I had wrapped the bracelet in the sari silk, I decided to overwrap it with some thin purple wire I also had on hand. The wire helped keep the ribbon in place and added a bit of texture. I pulled the wire fairly tightly so it wouldn’t rub against my wrist on the inside. Since this was an experiment, I had no idea how much wire I would need and ended up using 4-5 pieces of about 8-12 inched long – about 36 to 48 inched long). Although I had to hide the various ends, wrapping the bracelet with shorter pieces was easier to manage than using one long piece of wire. Whenever I added a new piece of wire, I started wrapping it on the outside of the bracelet, so I didn’t have any rough edges on the  inside.

While I liked how the wire looked against the sari ribbon, I thought it still needed a little more oomph. So I wrapped some small pieces of hand-dyed ribbon from JodyPosey, over the sari silk in a couple of places and then continued wrapped the wire around the entire bracelet.

Jan 2013 423

To finish off the bracelet, I knotted the ribbon and the sari silk and added a bead or a spacer to the ends – I also finished one ribbon end by wrapping it in the purple wire.

Jan 2013 424

Since the ribbon and sari silk were both thin, I ended up wrapping a short piece of the wire around the knot against the bracelet – it helped the ribbon ends hang together from the bracelet.

Jan 2013 460

My new hand model, showing off my latest bracelet

My new hand model, showing off my latest bracelet

I made my bracelet in stages but total production time (as opposed to thinking/planning time) was less than an hour. Having figured out how to do it, the next one would take less than half that amount of time – 20 minutes or so. Even though I used materials I had in my stash, the total cost was well under $5, including the bracelet. Easy, cheap and one-of-a-kind – my favourite kind of project.

I have linked up to the following: Think Pink Sundays at Flamingo Toes ; Monday Link Party at Craft-O-Maniac; Motivate Me Monday at Keeping It Simple; Making Monday Marvelous at C.R.A.F.T. ; Made by You Mondays at Skip to My Lou ; Get Your Craft on Tuesday at Today’s Creative Blog; Take-a-Look Tuesdays at Sugar Bee Crafts; Wednesday Wowzers at oopsy daisy; Flaunt It Fridays at Dotted Line Crafts; The Cure for the Common Monday at Lines Across My FaceSix Sisters Stuff – Strut Your Stuff Saturday

4 responses »

Leave a Reply

