June Art Bead Scene challenge – little houses

Standard

When I went to check out this month`s inspiration painting for Art Bead Scene challenge, the first thing I noticed was the clouds and the mountains. The colours are subtle, yet full of movement. By the time, I scrolled down on my monitor and looked at the entire image of  Franklin Carmichael’s Jackknife Village (1926), I was totally captivated.

 I also knew I had the perfect focal piece in my stash – a resin and copper house made by Jade Scott. Although it has a bit of green/turquoise on it, the house’s primary colours are off-white and ochre, which are also predominant colours in the painting.

June 8, 2013 028-001

I decided to make a necklace and incorporate a piece of wired ribbon, wrapped with seed beads into the design. As I was rummaging through my various boxes and bags looking for the right piece of ribbon, I came across a string of small round beads in a bluish tone that resemble stones. I decided to hang the focal from a piece of chain with a verdegris finish to pick up the blues in the stones.A ochre coloured hand-forged circle from MissFickleMedia and a package of rectangular etched rectangular  jump rings (a recent Michaels’ sales rack find) and a drilled stone from StoneStuidosToo got thrown into the mix. Another trip to Michaels and a stop at my favourite local bead store yielded a length of large link chain and etched copper circles.

I had a very clear sense of the design from the get-go, so the necklace came together fairly quickly. As I was stringing the round beads, I decided to add a small ceramic bead from Gaea. It’s the same tones as the beads and just adds a bit more visual interest. I didn’t have any jump rings big enough to go through the hole in stone, so I made my own, using a copper eye pin. I snipped off the top and wrapped the eye pin around a pen 2x and then cut it into 2 jump rings. I had a play round with them a little bit to get them to close, but they are just the right size.

June 8, 2013 058-001

The finished necklace is about 24 inches long – it slips easily over my head, so no need to add a clasp. The colours are fairly neutral, so I can see myself wearing it fairly often. I’m really happy with the way it turned out.

June 8, 2013 040-001

June 8, 2013 056-001

June 8, 2013 042-001

June 8, 2013 048-001

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: “A Little Pretty” Carmichael | Bite Size Canada

Leave a Reply

