Bead Hoarders Blog Hop

Standard

Earlier this spring, I participated in my first Bead Soup Blog Hop, organized by Lori Anderson. It was lots of fun and I ended up with 2 new necklaces and a bracelet. So when Lori put out the word about the Bead Hoarder’s Blog Hop, I jumped at the chance to participate.  I would get the opportunity to use some of my own bead stash, and also check out the designs from a group of talented beaders.

In my enthusiasm about participating in another bead blog hop, I didn’t pay much attention to the reveal date. I knew it was July 20, but I didn’t think through what else I had on my plate in early July – replacing my boss at work (plus doing my own job); weekend house guests; and the adjustment to a summer schedule (end of school and driving M back and forth to camps). Add to the fact that I caught my husband’s cold and was under the weather for a better part of a week and as the reveal date approaches, I haven’t made a single piece. The irony is that I’ll be on holidays for the next 2 weeks, which will give me lots of time to dive into my stash and do some serious beading.

However, I did want to at least finish one project. I was rooting through one of my several bead boxes and came across an unopened package of memory wire. There were also a number of loose beads rolling around the bottom of the box. A peek into a few more boxes and containers turned up more loose beads.

July 18,2013 127-001

Plus, I’ve got a box that only contains odds and ends.

July 18,2013 125-001

By stringing the beads onto a generous length of memory wire, I had a snazzy new bracelet – the bottom-of-the-bead-box cuff.

July 18,2013 129-001

I finished one end of the bracelet with a dragonfly charm and a wrapped dangle that I found in my box of strays -a  leftover from a previous project.

July 18,2013 131-001

The finished bracelet wraps around my wrist 5 times, which gives it a nice chunky look, without being very heavy.  I don’t feel like my arm is weighted down when I’m wearing it.

July 18,2013 139-001

My colour palette was  fairly subdued – blues, pinks, purples with some metal and clear beads mixed  in and the occasional shot of red or yellow. I used a variety of beads in different sizes and textures.  I added crystals (for a little extra bling), a small felt bead and a couple of vintage moonglow lucite beads to the mix . Big bonus – it goes with just about everything in my summer wardrobe.

July 18,2013 135-001

July 18,2013 132-001

Despite the fact that I only managed to make one piece, I made a good dent in my stash. If I make a few more (and maybe get ahead on my Christmas list?), I’ll have made good progress in my on-going battle to organize my beading supplies.

I’m going to work on a few more pieces while I’m on holidays, in between hopping around to see what other designers have created from their personal supplies.

25 responses »

  1. I love your bottom of the bead box bracelet, it’s a great idea for what to do with all the odds and ends. I may have to try that soon!

  2. I’ve always wanted to try making an eclectic memory wire bracelet, Susan… thanks for sharing your inspiration!

    • Monique – this was my first memory wire bracelet. Surprisingly easy once you get started. Heavy wire cutters are helpful as most beading snippers aren’t strong enough.

  3. I love it. Full of colour and life and interest. One of those bracelets that you take off to examine, dream and touch when you get those previous few minutes to switch off.

  4. Ingenious idea! I like that it looks great, but was really just some odds and ends. You did a fab job with this. . .especially as busy as it sounds like you’ve been!!

Leave a Reply

