A walk in the woods

Standard
A walk in the woods

I’ve been doing some reading recently on the positive impacts of nature on mental and physical well-being. On the weekend, I got an opportunity to put the theory into practice.  I went for a long walk along a series of trails near the cottage. Except for a few birds, I was alone the entire time. It had been a long, busy week and as I walked along the trail, I could feel the tension leaving my body. After an hour or so, I began to feel more mentally alert. So I just kept walking. I had my camera with me, which forced me to notice my surroundings, rather than just on my thoughts. Eventually, it started to rain, so I headed back. Refreshed and much more relaxed.

Leaves on the road

Leaves on the road

Funghi

Funghi

Watcher in the woods

Watcher in the woods

Fading flower

Fading flower

Three little mushrooms

Three little mushrooms

Late bloomer

Late bloomer

Bright bittersweet

Bright bittersweet

Fun funghi

Fun funghi

Pod

Pod

Single leaf

Single leaf

Trail games

Trail games

Where moss grows

Where moss grows

Red oak

Red oak

 

3 responses »

  1. These pictures are beautiful – thanks so much for sharing! After being back in the city for about six weeks I can really feel its negative effect on me. Perhaps I need to go find a trail of my own 😉

Leave a Reply

