Feathery fall wreath

Standard

I had a vague idea about making a fall wreath. However, it wasn’t until I spotted a maroon feather boa at my local thrift store that I knew what I wanted my wreath to look like. At $1.99, it was a steal.

P1030243

I bought a 13-inch foam ring at Michaels (40% off $13.99).

P1030242

Using sewing pins as necessary, I covered the entire foam wreath wIth strips torn from an old black.t-shirt.

P1030263P1030267

Unfortunately, the feather boa wasn’t quite long enough to cover the entire wreath form. However, I filled the space with some interesting pale green seed heads from a lovely autumn bouquet my husband had given me several weeks earlier.

P1030286

At least they started out green; as they dried out, the turned a mottled brown and opened up. I decided to keep them, because they were so interesting. I wrapped each seed head with a scrap of the  t-shirt strips so it was secure and wouldn’t move. I stuck some spare feathers in between each seed head to cover up the t-shirt and make it seem like the arrangement was planned.

Finally, I added some dollar store silk leaves and seed heads.

P1030281

To add some colour, I added a silk yellow mum,, but made the wreath look a little gaudy.

P1030285

In the end, I decided to used a a clump of green seed pods from a leftover Thanksgiving bouquet. (apparently, we like flowers in my family). I  found the easiest way to insert the faux leaves and seed heads was to strip the fabric covering away from the wire and then push the wire into the foam ring in the desired position. I stripped a piece of wire and inserted into the bottom of the seed bod, so I could wire it it securely.

P1030283

The final reveal – a funky, fall wreath. It’s a little understated, but all those feathers more than make up for the simple decorative touches

P1030397

Even with the cost of the foam wreath, I spent about $11 on all the materials. With Hallowe’en coming, feather boas are easy to find in thrift, bargain and costume stores.  Since I used pins to put it together, I can take it all apart and make a new wreath when the seasons change.

Links include: Think Pink Sundays at Flamingo Toes ; Monday Link Party at Craft-O-Maniac; Motivate Me Monday at Keeping It Simple; Making Monday Marvelous at C.R.A.F.T. ; Made by You Mondays at Skip to My Lou ; Market Yourself Monday at Sumo’s Sweet Stuff; Get Your Craft on Tuesday at Today’s Creative Blog; Tuesday To Do Part at The Blackberry Vine: Take-a-Look Tuesdays at Sugar Bee Crafts; Wednesday Wowzers at oopsy daisy; Flaunt It Fridays at Dotted Line Crafts; The Cure for the Common Monday at Lines Across My FaceSix Sisters Stuff – Strut Your Stuff Saturday

Leave a Reply

