All that glitters – pearl and crystal drop earrings

Standard

During one our pre-Christmas craft show outings, my friend Beth saw a pair of earrings that she really liked. They were similar in style to these Magma drop earrings I found in FusionBead’s inspiration section (a great source of ideas and techniques).
Magma Drop Earrings | Fusion Beads Inspiration Gallery

The earrings we saw had a pearl at the top of the chain and a crystal at the bottom. She decided against buying them and I decided I’d make her a pair.

These earring are easy to put together. It took me about an hour to make them, but that includes the 45 minutes I spent hunting  my supplies (I’m working on organizing my beading stash, but it’s slow going).

To make your own earring you’ll need the following:

6-8 inches of fine silver plated chain

2 6mm glass pearls

2 8mm glass crystals – I used Preciosa, but Firepolish or Swarovski would work too (widely available, including at FusionBeads or Artbeads

6 – 2-inch silver plated headpins

2-sterling silver earring wires (optional, but they’re a nice touch)

wire cutters and needle-nose pliers

I chose pearls and crystals in a pinky-gold colour (Beth is blond and I wanted something that would complement her colouring). Preciosa crystals have a nice sparkle to them, which made them perfect for this project – I wanted the earrings that were elegant but that could also work for every day.

P1030685

To make the loops for the pearls, snip the pin end off 1 head pin.

P1030686

Make a loop and attach it to the earring wires.

P1030691

Slide the glass pearl on and make another loop, without closing it all the way.

P1030692

Cut the chain to the desired length – I used about 1-1/4 inches (I recommend cutting the chain for both earrings at the same time – you can always cut a few links off if they’re too long, but hard to add links if they’re too short).

P1030693

Attach 1 length of the chain to the loop at the bottom of the pearl and with the needle nose pliers, close it all the way.

P1030694

Slide the crystal onto a headpin and make a loop, sliding it onto the chain before you finish it. That’s one earring. P1030695

Repeat the steps for the second earring.

P1030697

Lots of glitter for little effort.

P1030698

If your local bead store sells beads individually, you can easily make these earrings for less than $5.

Beth really liked her earrings. I did too and plan to make a pair for myself, as soon as I can schedule a trip to my local bead store to pick up more supplies. I’m thinking my wardrobe needs a little purple sparkle.


Or maybe green, for spring? At less than $5 a pop, I can make a pair in every colour I have in my closet!

Links include: Think Pink Sundays at Flamingo Toes ; Monday Link Party at Craft-O-Maniac; Motivate Me Monday at Keeping It Simple; Making Monday Marvelous at C.R.A.F.T. ; Made by You Mondays at Skip to My Lou ; Market Yourself Monday at Sumo’s Sweet Stuff; Get Your Craft on Tuesday at Today’s Creative Blog; Tuesday To Do Part at The Blackberry Vine: Take-a-Look Tuesdays at Sugar Bee Crafts; Wednesday Wowzers at oopsy daisy; Flaunt It Fridays at Dotted Line Crafts; The Cure for the Common Monday at Lines Across My FaceSix Sisters Stuff – Strut Your Stuff Saturday

2 responses »

  1. These are lovely! Thanks so much for the tutorial. Even though I have been taking silversmithing, the pieces I have made are all standalone so I have no clue how to use pliers or make things flow with pins and chains. Once I get my pliers kit I’m looking forward to exploring the possibilities with beads.

Leave a Reply

