S(no)w spring

Standard

According to the calendar, spring arrived a couple of days ago. So did more more snow – about 15 cm (6 inches) fell overnight.

Instead of walking around wearing cute shoes….

 Grace Flats!


Grace Flats! From ShoeMint

I’m still wearing my winter boots – not to mention a parka, a hat and mittens.

P1030925

My purple Bogs – they were much cuter in November

Around here, snow this late in the season isn’t totally unusual. We had a storm about the same time last year that dropped over 20 cm on the ground (I remember this is because we’d just come back from a week in California where it was 75 F and sunny everyday). But this year, the freezing temperatures arrived in late November and stayed until a couple of weeks ago, when the temperature climbed above the freezing mark for a couple of days. It’s been up and down like a roller coaster since then.

While I’m dreaming of spring flowers…

June 3, 2013 020

Primroses – my garden (spring 2013)

My garden is still fast asleep under a deep layer of white

P1030910

Sedum (height between 12 to 18 inches)

P1030915

Boxwood

Even the birds have decided to find somewhere else to spend the day.

P1030911

Nobody’s home

There is one flower in the garden – lonely and just a little chilly

P1030917

March is supposed to come in like a lion and go out like a lamb. There are still 9 more days until the end of the month, but so far, the lions are showing no sign of leaving.

P1030906

Neighbourhood picnic table

 

5 responses »

    • I’m jealous that all your snow is gone. Even if it doesn’t snow again, it will be a few weeks before everything melts. There’s still plenty of snow under the cedar hedge, which is usually the first place the crocus pop up.

  1. Here in New Jersey we “might” have another snow event this Tuesday. The weatherman said this morning it is 50/50. I sure hope not. I love the way you spelled S(no)w! I think I am going to have to use it on Facebook. Think Spring and Warm.

  2. I so hear about this winter and I’m also so done with it. I heard we’re supposed to be cold all the way into end of April. There’s still some ice on the ground here -just crazy!

    • I hear you. Last week was a tough one and expect that the endless winter contributed to my being down in the dumps. Not so much the snow, but the cold. I’m soooo tired of my winter clothes, but it’s just not warm enough here to break out my spring coat and wear light weight materials.

Leave a Reply

