Bead Soup to the rescue

Standard

I had a long day at work. One of those days where there’s more problems than solutions. When I finally got home, I was thrilled to find that my Bead Soup, from Shalini Austin, had arrived. Definitely a pick-me-up.

Shalini sent me a treasure trove of goodies, all wrapped up in separate bags with a little note. I discovered that she had made a number of the components, including these lovely wire flower links.

P1030955

Wire flower links

Shalini works primarily in wire and I had admired similar flowers in the jewelry on her blog/website. So I was delighted to receive some od my very own. The photos don’t do them justice – they are very pretty.

P1030972

Close up – wire flower link

 

Shalini also sent me a Kumihimo cord made of organza ribbon. I’ve never worked with this type of cord before, but now I have 30 inches to play with. Plus a large S-hook clasp.

P1030942

 

I love felt beads and Shalini sent me a bag of tiny wet-felted balls in bright colours.

P1030975

Candy is dandy…but beads are better

The piece de resistance, however, is the focal – a beaded wire Tree of Life, also made by Shalini. It is stunning.

P1030957

Beautiful hand-made focal

As if that wasn’t enough, Shalini also included an assortment of Tibetan silver components and a bag of freshwater pearls and glass beads in colours that coordinate with the felt balls and the focal.

P1030962

More bead sweetness

Lots of colour. The perfect antidote to the sea of white that greets me every time I look out the window (with more snow predicted for later this week – oh joy!).

At this point, I have no idea what I’m going to make with my Bead Soup. There are so many possibilities! I know that I’m going to have a lot of fun. Thanks to Shalini for brightening my day.

P1030965

A little bit of everything

Please check out Jewellry by Shalini to see what I sent Shalini. I sent along a little card with her Soup – liked the design so much that I’ve copied it for several birthday cards.

P1030849

The Bead Soup reveal is May 3, 2014. Something to keep me occupied while I wait for the snow to melt.

 

 

 

 

5 responses »

  1. Oh Susan, You are so kind 🙂
    I am really pleased you like what I sent and so excited to see what you will make from it.
    I have not stopped drooling over the soup you sent me yet… once I do I know I am going to have a lot of fun, especially with the ribbons because I have not done much work with ribbon and it will be an interesting challenge for me.
    Shalini

Leave a Reply

