Blooming beauty

Standard

An unexpected surprise this week – my Amaryllis is in full bloom. A wee bit out of season. but lovely nonetheless.

P1040340

I planted several Amaryllis bulbs last November, with the intention of giving them as gifts. I’ve done this before, but this time, the bulbs only sprouted foliage.  Nary a bloom. I’ve kept the pots in a sunny window and checked on them from time to time to see if the foliage had died back; then I’d pull the bulbs out of the soil and store them in a closet under the stairs (warm and dark). I figured I could try forcing them again next fall.

Apparently, one of the bulbs didn’t get the memo. When I checked last week, it had grown a stalk with four large blooms.

P1040343

It lives up to its name – Neon. Each flower is a vivid pink, with white striations on the petals and a bright green centre.

I have no idea how long the blooms will last, but I’m going to enjoy every minute.

 

Leave a Reply

