2nd Annual Bead Hoaders’ Blog Hop – late to the party

Standard

I made a necklace for the blog hop and had taken some photos too. The reason I’m late posting is that I came down with a cold on Friday. After making Christmas cookies, volunteering at the craft sale at my son’s school (which included donating bags of said cookies), and doing a little Christmas shopping, I ran out of steam and had a nap (several, as it turned out).

The necklace was a gift for one of my favourite colleague’s who retired recently. I made a focal bead, using a Jade Scott owl pendant and a copper disc which I distressed, using Ranger’s metal patina in verdigris.

P1050405

Although I’ve had the patina for over a year, I’d never actually used it before (my stash includes more than just jewelry components). I scratched the surface of the disc with fine sandpaper and applied the patina on both sides, as per the directions on the bottle. Big impact with minimal work.

P1050406

I polished the edges of the disc with the sandpaper to give it a bit more detail. I attached it to a length of fancy round cooper chain that had a natural patina – I don’t know if it came that way or it’s just been in my box of chain for a long time. Either way, it was a perfect match for the focal bead.

P1050404

Attaching the focal and the clasp to the chain turned out to be a bit tricky because I couldn’t find my jump rings. Over the last several months, I’ve slowly been organizing a craft space in a corner of my basement (aka, the craft cave) and most of my supplies are sorted. Except apparently, the jump rings. I looked up and down for them several times, to no avail. I managed to find 4 or 5 small gun metal ones, and I used them to attach the clasp, figuring no one would notice the difference in colour at the back of the necklace. The pendant came with a jump ring, but I didn’t like how the owl ears poked up above the metal disc. I had cut a link off the chain so it was the right length and I used it as a jump ring, to drop the owl down a bit further. It did the trick perfectly, plus it looks like part of the chain.

P1050407

Thanks to my MIA jump rings, I could only make one piece for the blog hop. However, I also made my colleague a card from materials in my stash, including a vintage button.

P1050400

I probably won’t be making any jewelry for Christmas. But as soon as the holiday rush is over, I’m going to track down those darn jump rings, so I can dive back into my stash and have some more fun and perhaps learn another new technique or two.

P1050403

5 responses »

  1. Hi Susan your necklace is beautiful. The link Lori has for you is not working. I googled you and got a link to Art Bead Scene and from there I found your blog. If you are not getting responses that is probably why.

  2. I absolutely the love the owl, and your decorative box is beautiful! I’m so glad you made these and shared them (and the chain, btw, is to die for, too).

    Thank you so much for participating, and don’t forget to post your pieces in the special Pinterest board, http://www.pinterest.com/limamike/bead-hoarders-blog-hop/

    Plus, join the Facebook group (also welcome to your friends) http://www.BeadSoupCafe.com — hope to see you at other hops!

  3. Glad you are feeling better and were able to post. Getting craft spaces organized is easy, keeping them organized is an on-going project.

    I am sure your friend will be thrilled with the lovely necklace.

Leave a Reply

